Wednesday, 25 May 2011

El Sonido de Tupac Amaru


With this compilation, El Sonido de Tupac Amaru, and accompanying bonus 7” E.P., Masstropicas presents the next installment in their quest to bring you the very finest in Peruvian cumbia.

El Sonido de Tupac Amaru starts with the slow coastal pulse of Grupo Naranja, while the Amazonian sound of Iquitos Los Silvers’ “Sueño Amazonico” has a smooth and soothing groove that will aurally transport you down the Amazon River in a canoe. Seven out of the ten tracks here feature vocals, such as the legendary voices of Chacal, Pancho Lema, Martin Lopez, and Claudio Moran. 

The three instrumentals featured here are sure to please fans of previous guitar-driven compilations. First comes Pucallpa’s Septima Region; their song “De la Selva Con Furor” starts off with some nasty drumming before drawing you into into a psychedelic guitar sprawl that makes you wonder, “Why weren’t these guys ever compiled before?”

This compilation also includes a special four song E.P. with the voice of “El patron de la cumbia,” Carlos Ramirez Centeno. The first, a Destellos song, was written by the great Tito Caycho and includes the guitar work of the late Enrique Delgado. Released for the first time on vinyl in the U.S., Carlos Ramirez’s own group, Grupo Centeno, appears with his first 45 hit, “Rico Vacilon.”

Limited to a one-time pressing of 500 copies, this release also comes with a full-color 11” x 22” fold-out with rare photos, scans, and other info taken from interviews with band members. It also comes with a full-color sleeve to accompany the Centeno E.P.

All songs were a.) either fully licensed from labels or b.) money was directly paid to artists/songwriters.
No funny business! Get it before they are all gone.

Source: light in the attic records

Track Listing (click for audio samples)

No comments:

Post a Comment